Don’t Worry, Be Happy!

2 03 2011

I immediately start whistling when I hear this phrase (and sound so amazing when doing so) yet I picture the ridiculous singing fish my brother got for Christmas instead of Bob Marley… Weird.  Billy Bass or something like that…

Anyway, this is one of the best songs EVER (in my expert, professional opinion) and I so wish more people could really buy into the words.  And I’m talking literally.

You’re never going to believe this, but I’m not the worrier in the family.  No, sir, my mother and brother have got that gene, and I don’t envy them for it.  My dad and I don’t really have the capacity for it.  We just don’t know how.  And I’m not trying to brag or rub it in anyone’s face – I’m terribly sorry if you’re a chronic worrier, too.  It can’t be an easy affliction to live with.  But I just don’t see the point.

Someone sent me one of those retarded forwards with all the cutsey quotes we’ve all heard ten thousand times and have little animated emticons dancing around them.  I opened this particular one, most likely during my brief encounter with pain meds during my last injury, and there was one quote that I hadn’t seen in a while, but love.  It reminds me of my fabulously southern grandmother from Biloxi, Mississippi.  (Yes, I know she didn’t come up with it, it just sounds like something she would say…)

“Worry is like a rocking chair: it gives you something to do but doesn’t get you anywhere.”

And that is exactly why I just don’t bother.  Losing sleep over something does nothing but put big purple bags under my eyes in the morning.  Besides, I know my mother was up all night doing enough worrying for us all.

In the end, it all works out anyway.  And if it doesn’t, well, then its not the end yet.

…I think that came from the same retarded email forward…

Actions

Information

Give it to me straight -

