Its not you, its me

6 03 2011

Dear Bend,

I know you think I’m breaking up with you.  I can see all the signs. Picking fights over petty things, pouting, pushing me away.  I’ve seen it all before.

I didn’t expect it from you – not you.

I feel like we’ve become so close.  Bonded.  You introduced me to the Pacific Northwest, and I fell fast and hard in love.  Our romance has been passionate, wild, free, not without the storms that accompany any love this strong.  My life is better because of you.  Please stop acting like this is your fault and that you’ve done something wrong.  You know better.

I feel like I need to officially break the news, in writing: I’m leaving. There it is.  Not for good, its not permanent (I don’t think). I just need to try something new for a little while. There’s so much I have yet to experience, and I have the opportunity for a new adventure

The wind now blows every day – hard.  Don’t think I don’t know what you’re telling me.  Fine, get out of here.  Just go.  What are you waiting for? You scream it in my face.  Pushing me away, trying to make me want to get out of here.  Throwing sleet and rain at me just to make me miserable in the mean time.

Walking to work a few days ago, a “get well” card lay discarded on the sidewalk, open.  Under the printed “Hope you feel better soon!” was a scrawling, loopy I love you. A dirty footprint smudged the ink. I know it was you.  Showing me how I stepped on our love, careless in my rush to move on.  Glad you could rub in my face…

But Bend, its not you.  I’ll be back to visit often.  You will always have a special place in my heart.  I’m not leaving because I don’t love you anymore.  I just need a little space, a little distance.  This is a separation, not a divorce.

Please just understand.  I need to do this, for me.  It has nothing to do with you.  Now lets kiss and make up.  I have packing to do.

Love,

Kalista

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 03 2011
Justin

K, is this your standard break up form letter? Insert name ___________ here. haha.

6 03 2011
ksnapped

….no…. 😀

Give it to me straight -

