I like to move it, move it

24 04 2011

Anyone else reminded of Madagascar?  The little creatures dancing?  I told  you I like to sing. You should be very sad you can’t see the wicked dance moves.  Bam!

Back to moving.  I love it.  Could be one reason I move so often.  Anyway, one of my favorite things about moving is the packing and unpacking.  Well, not so much the act of packing/unpacking itself, but the things you find.  One of my moving philosophies is “less is more.”  Its just me, so I don’t have to worry about anyone else’s junk.  To date, I can move in my Mazda 3.  This latest move, I had Justin’s car for overflow, but I could have fit it all in my car if I had needed to.  If not, more would have been tossed.

So packing for me involves more sorting, sifting and tossing than actually putting things in boxes.  Lots of “hey, do you want this?” and a little bit of “who the hell does this actually belong to?!” and every once in a while “ew! throw that away!”  So far, in my unpacking, I have found a few more fun things that weren’t even found in the packing process.  I have a box labeled “desk” that hasn’t been fully unpacked for about 2 years, just because I don’t own a desk.  I just use things out of the box.  There was a notebook hiding in the bottom that I’ve had since I was in about 5th grade.  Cracking that bad boy open brought in a flood of memories and laughter.

When I was in 5th grade, I had BIG dreams.  For one, I was going to be the head librarian for the largest library in the world, and I was going to read every book in it.  (Once a nerd, always a nerd.  Good thing book-worms have become popular.)  Secondly, I was going to be a famous novelist, adding my own masterpieces to my monster of a library.  This notebook I found was my first serious attempt at beginning my career as a world-renown writer.  I was 11.

I never managed to finish that story.  Flipping through the pages is similar to a geologist examining the layers of a cliff and reading the timeline of history.  I could see layer upon layer of ideas weaving together on the pages, lying abandoned for a bit, then flowing once more in a slightly altered handwriting.

The funniest part is that despite my idealistic visions of myself in a great outfit with a great pair of glasses, pen in hand, accepting congratulations at my latest award ceremony, my pen-to-paper couldn’t keep up.  I never finished that particular story, or many of the others I started over the years, and I never pursued the ideas and dreams of my 11-yr-old mind after about 8th grade.  Maybe because it became clear that being a writer, or intelligent in any capacity, was definitely not cool.  (Man am I glad I didn’t care to be “cool.”)  Or maybe because I found out how many other possibilities exist in the realm of dreams, and I got a little lost in the clouds.

So I sat at my new desk, wearing the cute forgotten shirt from the back of my closet, drinking juice from my forgotten Dave & Busters glass, reading my forgotten story of youth.  Maybe I like moving so much  because it brings out the best in me and reminds me of forgotten dreams…. And maybe someday, I’ll drop out of the clouds long enough to follow-through with one!

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 04 2011
charlie nitric

Hello Ksnapped –

I like moving also. It gives you an opportunity to purge all those things that people like us hang on to for like > forever! The Goodwill store is near me and a garage really isn’t much problem either. Less is better than more, always. Have a nice Tuesday. 🙂

26 04 2011
ksnapped

Thanks, Charlie. My friends, the local Goodwill, and a couple other charitable organizations definitely benefited from my last couple moves! Now if I could just purge the lingering belongings in my mother’s attic…
Hope you had a nice Tuesday, as well!

Give it to me straight -

