No cure for being a pansy

17 05 2011

I had a rough morning.  Actually, my rough morning started yesterday.  Mid-evening, my slight headache headed straight into a full-blown migraine.  Have you ever had a migraine?  It freaking blows.  Feels like my whole head is going to explode, or maybe implode, and I’m usually wishing it would.  The drip of water from the facet in the bathroom on the other side of the house sounds like a freight train charging full speed through my eye balls.  The moonlight through the 2mm crack between the shade and window frame pierces through my squeezed-shut eyelids and spot-lights my very brain cells.  Sweet mercy, migraines should only be for the scum of the earth, like the dirtbags that shot my dad’s horses and the 9/11 terrorists.

Anyway, after a horrible night of little sleep, I woke up with a dull ache still scraping the inside of my skull.  I finally wrapped the blanket around me, Mary-in-the-nativity style, and hauled all my junk from my office to my bed.  For the first time, I not only worked in my pj’s, I full on worked from bed.  Laptop propped on my legs, monitor tucked in next to me, mouse on a clipboard on the other side.  I got up a few times to refill my water but that was it.  For my lunch break, I took a nap. I worked til about 2.

I finally had enough.  I don’t get sick.  It had been about 2 years since my last migraine, yet this is the second one in a month.  The sun was back out and here I sat: a pathetic, miserable, stinky pile of self-pity.  Its just a little headache!  My dad has had worse than that on his eyeball and didn’t cry half as much!  Meds can cure a headache, but once a pansy, ALWAYS A PANSY!  Rub some dirt on it and walk it off!

So I did.  I put a bra on.  I put my contacts in.  I pulled on some jeans.  And I got in my car and drove away.  With all the windows rolled down and Randy Rogers belting his heart out, I felt my spirits lift.  This life is too glorious to waste in bed.  I started at my eyebrows and worked my way down my back, relaxing each muscle as I went.  Amazing how much tension I was holding in, and I didn’t even realize it until I relaxed.  I don’t know what had my panties in a bunch, but what a mess.  I drove around aimlessly for a bit, not going super fast, just feeling the sun on my cheeks, the wind in my hair.  The valley is now a lush, radiant green.  Deer were out and about, horses were rolling in the fields, birds were flitting about.  Maybe this is why I felt so terrible: I needed mountain air back in my lungs.  I was tired of being inside.

I finally went home, stopping at Hank’s for a Dr Pepper and some excedrin in case the headache decided to attack again.  And when I got home and got back to work, I truly felt better.  I opened one of my windows so the breeze could keep me refreshed.  At about 6:30, I closed my laptop and headed back outside with a sandwich and some paper to doodle on.  When I got cold, I headed back in and did pilates in my underwear.  Felt fantastic.  And now I’m about to turn in early, thankful that Mother Nature could cure me so nicely.  I think I just needed to be reminded of how great I have it.

xo

Actions

Information

Give it to me straight -

