Whatever Blows Your Skirt Up

26 06 2012

One of the coolest things about moving from Texas to the northwest is the change in culture.  I didn’t technically move to a different country (despite what some Texans will tell you, it is in fact still part of the United States), but sometimes it seems that way. People look different, talk different, and often think very different.

lumberjack in the northwest with axe

“You ain’t in the Bible belt no more, ToTo!” (image compliments of woodeyerather.wordpress.com)

Sometimes I feel like I must stare openly with my jaw on the ground every time I meet new people, but everyone up here is so fascinating! It’s a totally different melting pot of peoples and cultures and ideas. And this is by no means limited by topic – it applies to religion, politics, education, – life in general.

I think the main different I’ve noticed is the acceptance. Not of each other’s ideas, or even each other, but of the fact that we’re all different. Do whatever you want as long as it doesn’t infringe on me. They might think you’re a class-A moron, but hey, to each his own. Whatever floats your boat, pops your cork, or my personal favorite, blows your skirt up.

This gives such a sense of freedom. It gives everyone the chance to release their inhibitions and explore whatever they want (very broadly speaking). You do what you want and be your kind of crazy, because I’m going to do what I want and be my kind of crazy. Then you just make pals with anyone else falling within your realm of crazy. Awesome!

I’ve heard some interesting stuff in the last three years since I jumped on the Oregon Trail, but I think I have finally found one to top them all. This is even after a day spent with folks from all different walks of life at the Oregon Country Fair and a whole WEEKEND with them at the Tonasket Barter Faire.

Hold a second; let me give you examples first. This one couple we met lives totally off the grid. Our country has gone to hell, the government is going to do us all in, and they want no part in American society as we know it. So they have their own little place out in the boonies where they live off the land, and once a year they pack up and haul what they can to the Barter Faire to trade and make money for the full year until the next Barter Faire. Fantastic! I met another dude who is a total hermit living in a cabin up Twisp River Road. He has no car, few possessions, little contact with anyone. He’s had a rough life and is now putting every ounce of energy into writing a book. That and going on vision quests. See, he’s writing the book because that’s what the universe told him to do, and the vision quests are for inspiration (duh). He told me all about his connections to birds and how they are the direct connection to God. If they drop a feature you better pick it up – its a message straight from our Maker to you, a gift. If a bird drops one right in front of you and doesn’t fly away, keep that feather in a place of honor; that bird is your totem. (I could not make this up if I wanted.)

Here in the valley, we have people who want to live as people did pre-civilization. They’re the Primitive People. They totally live off the land, making clothes out of animal hides, harvesting food from the forest, building fires with sticks – primitive. (You can also pay them a boat-load of money to teach you how to live primitively, too!)

Oh, but just wait. It gets better. This one that’s topping them all – you’re going to love it. This particular group holds a Congress every year, and it takes place in the hills mere miles from my house. It’s called the Fairy and Human Relations Congress.

The Congress attracts people from all over the world for “communication and co-creation with devas, nature spirits and the faery realms.” Around 300 people go to this! And it’s around $300 to attend the whole weekend! I am simply astounded. If you don’t believe me, you’re welcome to check it out on your own – of course they have a website!

If I had an extra $300, I would so go to this. Unfortunately, I don’t, so I just read about it in the paper. The 2012 Congress met this last weekend. The theme was “Engaging the Power of Love” and included workshops, rituals, camping and “enough fairy dust to make you shine for the rest of the year!” Oh, I bet it does. What really got me excited was the mention of a Trance Dance Party. No wonder it’s $300 – that must include hallucinogenics! Woo – now that sounds like a good time! Sure the fairy parade sounds great, but a trance dance party?! Who’s with me?!

The Congress is all about learning, not just partying. Workshops include topics such as telepathy and shamanic journeying, hearing faerie voices, and the spiritual role of the honeybee (I would go to this one – my garden would appreciate it). The organizers even assure people that humans won’t be the only ones in attendance – “thousands of fairies, devas and nature spirits attend.” Maybe they have workshops on how to communicate with the silly humans?

I really love this. I love that a group of people can unite around common beliefs and interests – this is no different than any other religion, right? I went to church camp as a kid; we did workshops and sang songs and worshiped together. These people are doing the exact same thing. (Except with hallucinogenics – we definitely didn’t have those at my camp!)

Everyone needs something to believe in, even if their belief is that there is nothing but themselves to believe in.  I think these people are great for finding something to calm their souls and provide for the spiritual side of their lives. To those of us who may not believe in the same thing (yet! …you never know…) it sounds a little crazy. But then many find the idea of Christianity – believing that a man was crucified and managed to rise from the dead three days later and will ultimately take our souls to Heaven if we believe in him – to be totally wacky, too. Most religions tend to find all religions besides theirs to be just, well, unbelievable. I think that’s part of “having” a religion.

So – who’s up for Fairy Congress 2013?!

(You can read the story here from the Methow Valley News, or there’s their FaceBook page [duh!], or you can just Google them and find your own information! 😀 )

Actions

Information

Give it to me straight -

