Away We Go!

13 10 2012

Oh, man, everything is going in so many directions right now!  I’m sorry I’ve been neglecting my blog. I feel like I just don’t have the time these days!! Then summer went and broke up with me and now fall is all up in my face like “heeeey gurl” which I don’t appreciate at all. I don’t care if he has a more colorful wardrobe, I thought summer and I had something special! Now I’m going to have to go dig out my electric blanket to deal with fall’s cold shoulder.

Ok, ok, enough with the whining. I do miss summer, though. We went to another wedding at the end of August that was just out of this world. This time, J and I were both friends with the bride and the groom, and had an absolute blast the whole weekend.

Manasco Wedding, Sisters OR

Amazing wedding, amazing people, amazing PHOTOGRAPHY!! (Photo by Celine at squarebutterflies.com – she is insanely talented!)

Then stupid Jack Frost came and BRUTALLY MURDERED my garden at the beginning of September (oh you read right- freezing temps one night in September….that’s just not fair) so I’m still kind of grieving that. All 15 tomato plants – dead.

I did get to pick apples and plums from my trees, which was fun. J’s bday rolled around, so I made a plum pie for him!! I know, I should have made apple, right? Everyone loves apple pie! So why on earth would I make a plum pie when I live in an apple orchard?? Because I like it better, that’s why, and I had to make it so I don’t care that it was J’s bday and not mine, I’ll make whatever kind of pie I want to! Oh, and because he loves pie and loves my plum pie, so he could care less.

Can you tell I’m stalling? All this blabbering is me totally stalling. It’s just that I have really big news and I’ve been freaking out about my really big news for a while now, so I’m not exactly sure how to break it to yall. This is my chance to put it out to the world, and I can’t find the right words to say it!!  But I need to – oh, do I need to.

I wrote a post at the beginning of this year about how I don’t know how to worry – my dad was going in for a hip replacement, and I was ridiculously freaked out and worried to pieces. And since I don’t usually worry about absolutely anything, I didn’t know how to deal with it. Well, now that’s happening again!! I’m losing sleep, having these bogus mood swings, giving myself insane headaches – STRESSED OUT.

But this is good news – I’m super excited! – so excited I can’t handle it…

Ok, I’m just going to come out with it….

WE’RE GOING TO PERU!!!

No, no, not like “yay! a couple days at an all-inclusive resort for a nice little vacation!” but more like “holy jesus, we’re about to spend four weeks exploring the entire southern half of the country and maybe Bolivia, too!!”  Four weeks!! (Don’t lie, how many of you thought I was going to say “preggers!!”? Fess up! Thankfully, hell no – this is way better!)

I didn’t know it was possible to be so excited yet freaked out all at the same time. I’ve wanted to travel my whole life, and now I’m going on my first real excursion, and I’m making myself physically ill over it. We’re doing all kinds of research so we know where we want to go and what we want to do when we get there. We’ve been to two different clinics to get all sorts of vaccinations so we don’t come home with some miserable disease or virus. We’ve bought all kinds of gear that we’re going to need to explore such diverse climates all on one trip. We have a Google doc to share info, for crying out loud!! We’re being diligent, checking everything, taking all the precautions, and reading everything we possibly can.

yellow fever vaccination, Okanogan WA

The back of my arm with my Bugs Bunny bandaid from the Yellow Fever vaccination – better than just dying!

SO WHY AM I FREAKING OUT?!

Going to a foreign country with just a pack and my beau for an entire month, perhaps? Yeah, ok, maybe that’s it. We’re going to have an absolute blast once we get there, I just know it, but all this before-crap is seriously killing me.

We’re not making an exact itinerary, but keeping things lose so we can kind of play it by ear. We’ll land in Lima (I think that’s the only international airport), possibly head down the coast a bit from there, the maybe over to Arequipa with a couple days hiking down through Colca Canyon (twice as deep as the Grand!!), then into the Andes to Cuzco and  up to Machu Picchu, maybe down to Lake Titicaca (you’re lying if you say you didn’t giggle like a 12 year old reading that), maybe into Bolivia to the salt flats and crazy lagoons, then into the AMAZON RAIN FOREST!!  Then we’ll come home. Maybe.

Columbia rain coat

Brand-spanking new rain coat – ready for the jungle!! (We are sort of going during rainy season…)

J’s probably going to read this and come tell me that I have no idea what we’re doing.  😀

I’ve dreamed about doing a trip like this since forever!! In 3rd grade, my homeroom teacher was Mrs. Kressenburg. We did a whole unit on the rain forest – art projects, stories, cool artifacts she brought in – we even decorated our lockers with paper mache and construction paper to look like the forest canopy! I wish there was a way for me to tell her, my wonderful 3rd grade teacher, that I’m finally seeing that dream come true, and that she put that spark there!!

Question: do you think they’ll let me bring an alpaca home with me? Will I get arrested for that?

We all know this is going to be amazing and will possibly be life-altering for me. I guess we’ll find out soon – we fly out in two and a half weeks!!  Still, someone please slap me a time or two and tell me to take a damn chill pill and calm down already! Breathe in, trip of a lifetime, breathe out, dream come true.

Now then, has anyone else been to Peru or Boliva? Any tips, advice, words of wisdom, awesome photos?

One last thing: I’d apologize for the spaz-tastic nature of this whole post, but it’s not my fault. I was high as a kite on Fridayness, caffeinated black tea, and Rihanna while I wrote it.

😀

Actions

Information

Give it to me straight -

