A Place To Call Home

20 10 2012

I had this long, drawn-out, mushy post written about the meaning of “home”. When I was first writing it, typing furiously to try to finish it on my lunch break, I couldn’t help but be impressed with myself for digging deep and really showing off my philosophical side.

Thankfully, I didn’t finish it on my lunch break, I re-read it just now, and I made it about 3 paragraphs in before selecting all and hitting delete. What a load of crap! I have many homes, and the meaning of the word has changed for me as I’ve grown old and wise and blah blah blah big yawn zzzzzzzzzzz. Gross.

So here’s what this post is really about: I’m feeling all mushy and nostalgic because I’m ditching yet another “home”. That’s right – we’re moving. Packing up and getting the hell out of Dodge. Moving on to greener pastures. Hitching up the mule train for the great beyond. Something like that.

wagon train to Oregon

We are moving almost to Oregon. Let’s hope we don’t die of dysentery, drown fording the river, or get shot by Indians on the way…(photo from 32finearts.com)

The truth of the matter is that I’m freaking out about it. Well, let me rephrase that: I’m freaking out in general. We just have so much going on at once!! We leave for Peru in a little over a week. The movers come on Friday (more on this in a moment). We drive from our house in Twisp to Seattle, fly to Peru, have an ridiculous awesome time for four weeks, fly back to Seattle, then drive to our new house in Trout Lake, WA. We’ll be homeless for a month!! World travelers with address unknown!! Just the thought gets my gypsy blood a-pumping! So we’re trying to plan our humungo trip, prep for the move, figure out where we’re going to live, decide what to do with all our stuff while we’re busy gallivanting around South America, and find someone to baby-sit Spartacus and the houseplants for a month. And once we leave for Peru, we leave the Methow for good….

That’s a lot of logistical crap to nail down. I’m sure you can see why I’m a giant stress-ball. Worst of all, I don’t even have the work to occupy me. I love to pack, but movers are coming to do it all for us. Which I know I’m not allowed to complain about, but…I’m going to anyway. I wouldn’t have so much time to sit and worry about everything – I’m a do-er yet have nothing to do. In fact, I think it’s making me worry more. Strange dudes are going to be all up in my stuff! I know, they could care less about all my crap. But it also means that I don’t get to go through all my crap, and that I don’t get to do my typical ritualistic purging. Oh the tragedy of it all!!

So in order to cope and not drive J up the wall, I slathered on a chocolate mud mask and made a huge spaghetti dinner and I feel much better. Ok, so it wasn’t just me that relieved my stress – J also got us a house, verified that we can store our stuff while we’re gone, asked some friends and family to take care of our living belongings, and gave me a Tylenol and a back rub. Whoever did whatever, I feel fantastic now.

Besides, we’re moving to a really cool place. We’ll live in Trout Lake, which is about 25 miles north of the Columbia river gorge and Hood River, OR. The gorge is world-renown for wind surfing and kite boarding, which I want to try out and see if I can live to tell about it. We’ll be right between Mt Adams, the 2nd tallest mountain in Washington, and Mt Hood, the tallest mountain in Oregon. (Both are also active strata volcanoes – I love volcanoes! I’ll have to make a new evacuation plan….) We’ll also be just over an hour out of Portland and about 3 hours from Bend, OR – so close!

Mount Adams, Trout Lake WA

Soon, we’ll live here at the base of Mt Adams. I do love me some volcanoes….

Boooo – insert pouty face here. Yeah, Trout Lake is awesome and I’m sure I’ll love the new place once we get there, but I already love this place. My apply orchard, and my view of Mt McClure all day, and my crazy-cool mountain range…. and my amazingly-awesome Methow pals!! Don’t get me wrong, I like moving, I like new places and new people, I’m excited about this move, I really am. Really. But the Methow Valley is a place like no other, and I really hope we get to come back to visit often. And my Methow besties better not forget about me!!

Leavenworth Oktoberfest

Come visit me ALL THE TIME! And we still have to go on our annual ski trip…and we have to go wine tasting…and we could go – DON’T FORGET ME!!!!

North Cascades from Mt McClure, Twisp WA

This is my current backyard. Hard to beat…

 

I told you I was feeling all nostalgic and gooey. But I guess this just points out that I have come to call this place “home”. And that’s a big deal, in my world. I am super excited for the adventure of a new place, but I’m leaving a little piece of my heart here in the Methow.

Good talk, I feel better. Thanks, yall.

😀

Actions

Information

Give it to me straight -

