The End of the World, duh

21 12 2012

How cliche’, writing a post about the End of the World, on the day the world is supposed to end. And so many other bloggers are doing the exact same thing! Well, calm down people! It’s not the end of the world…except that it is.

I would just like to ask a few questions on the topic. I checked with Google to get more info on just what exactly the Mayans meant by “the world is ending” and frankly, no body seems to know. My stress level dipped significantly.

I mean, c’mon, the END of the world? That can mean so many things! Worlds end all the time.

My kid sister’s world ends every time she can’t find her pink flower hair clip (NOT the red one!!) or she scuffs her brand new shoes. The new dude she met at the bar last weekend STILL hasn’t called, and her whole world comes tumbling down. This kind of worldly demise I think I can handle.

Other people have their worlds end in much worse ways. The parents and families of the victims of the Newtown shooting – they might feel as though their worlds just ended. Likewise with every other tragedy anyone has to face. Losing a loved one at all, no matter how, can just devastate a person. If the Mayans think the end of the world is happening in this way, I may not be able to handle it, and I sincerely hope no one else has to.

Or, those extremes aside, maybe today will be more like REM suggested, and its the end of the world as we know it, but we’ll be just fine. Maybe today is the day of a great shift, maybe in the climate, maybe in the universe, and maybe only for the degenerates of the world. But who gets to decide who stays or goes? Maybe the Great Cycle of the Long Count is completing, and maybe Armageddon is upon us. (If Armageddon comes with Ben Affleck, I don’t see how it’s such a bad thing…) Maybe a disaster of tremendous proportions has “destroy Earth” on its Google calendar for today. Something will strike and humans will slowly disappear like most of the dinosaurs did.

But I just can’t be content with all these maybes. The more I read, the more uncertain the answers are. No one really knows. None of the Mayan astrologers will return my calls, so I guess I’ll never get to the bottom of the truth.

I’ve come up with my own theory. I read about the Mayans believing in different worlds, that the gods created 3 worlds before this one, and this fourth world, where they tossed in humanoids, is the one we live in. So really, today is just the end of a cycle. The Mayans didn’t seem real worried about the fact that when one cycle ended, there wouldn’t be another after it. I like this better. The thought that maybe we’re just at the end of something, and a whole new, bright and shiny something starts tomorrow. I  don’t know how great the last 5000 years were for you, but I’m thinking they could have been a bit better.

What if the Mayans were trying to tell future generations (ours, specifically) that this cycle of humanity is closing, and it’s time to start again? This could be our big chance, people! You always hear folks talk about new beginnings – “if only I could start over”. Maybe this is our chance. Maybe the Mayans just figured we’d be in a slump by now and would need a kick in the face to get us going. “World’s ending! Get off your asses, future people!!”

That’s my guess. We’ve survived the majority of the day, so I think it’s a good one. Tomorrow, I want everyone to pay homage to the forward-thinking Mayans and change something for the better. I don’t care what it is, but I don’t want any selfish crap. “This world would be a better place if I traded my decent car in for a Porche” doesn’t cut it. Now, if you want to trade your gas-hog in for a more fuel-efficient vehicle, then you’re on track. And no, the rest of the world doesn’t care about that 5 extra pounds or the wrinkles around your eyes.

Why wait for New Year’s? None of us are perfect – we’re human instead. But I think now is a wonderful time to turn over a new leaf, the huge leaf covering the entire world that’s really been bringing us down. Instead of turning this leaf over, I say we kick off! Time to let the sun shine again.

Any ideas?

😀

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2013
Lucille Glasgow

This doesn’t sound like you. Have you forgotten God or am I too old & fogey to understand? Love you, Grandma

1 01 2013
ksnapped

No, I was just pondering the world from a Mayan perspective, since they supposedly said the world would end on Dec 21, 2012. All the media hype about the “world ending” prompted me to look up what exactly the Mayans meant by “the end of the calendar”. Turns out, they didn’t really say the earth was going to blow up. And here we still are, living proof that it didn’t. 🙂
Love you, too!

Give it to me straight -

