You Don’t Have To Care

19 04 2013

I’ll warn you right now, what lies ahead is likely to bore you to tears, and many exclamation marks are sure to block the road despite my better judgement. But I can’t help it – I’m so frikin’ excited!! (Think Kristen Wigg as “Sue” on SNL…)

I told you a few weeks ago about my lapse in sanity that caused me to register for a half marathon. Well, I freaked out and started running. I committed to three runs a week (as in I told my Google calendar to hit the eject button on my chair every other day) and started channeling Forrest Gump. The first few runs were a bit rough, I have to admit. Not quite 3 miles the first couple days and I almost DIED.

But I’m proud to tell you I kept going. Today was my ninth run (3 runs for 3 weeks) and I ran FIVE MILES!! No walking, in the drizzly crap weather, the dog and J for company, and we RAN! How AMAZING is that?!

how I feel, how I look, running

Truth.

So with all this running has come … enlightenment and revelation. For starters, I have pretty terrible form (hence the photo above). My knees are pretty jacked and I have a feeling that could be why. Or it could have something to do with my shoes, which have so many holes I might need to call them “sandals” soon. But running is giving me time to think: about me, life in general, my dog’s weird little tail that bounces up and down as he trots along ahead of me. I ponder things such as whether J and I should move into White Salmon, did I remember toilet paper at the store yesterday, do I have a meeting today or was it pushed to next week? Do these capris hide the jiggle of my thighs as the one car of the day passes, and why do I care? Have my parents seen any crazy tornadoes yet, and did J remember to call his momma, and how can I even begin to fathom what just happened in Boston and West, TX, this week??

One section of our route is through dense trees that give us shade and a nice breeze. It’s this section of our runs where I found my muse hiding, and she decided to follow me home. Ideas, characters and stories flow from my imagination to the cadence of my feet hitting the pavement. If only I could record my thoughts for later! (Selectively, of course…) Plot twists swirl around my grey matter as I stare off into space, grateful for the peace and quiet of the forest and the lack of traffic on the road. It’s been amazing for my peace of mind and my stress levels!

And I try to heed the advice of my bestie: focus on each step, focus on why I’m doing this – for ME, not for anyone else. I don’t have to be fast, I don’t have to meet anyone else’s expectations, I just have to get my butt out of my chair and my feet into my sneakers. When I do, the days that I run, my endorphins skyrocket and the afternoons go by so much faster! I’m getting more done at work and even being productive around the house in the evenings!

The Scariest Thing EVER might just be turning into the best thing ever. It’s only been three weeks and I’ve already come so far, in attitude as much as in my physical capabilities. So while you may not give two shakes that I ran 5 miles today, I do. And I’m learning that I’m the one that counts.

😀

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 04 2013
Christina

Great job!!

19 04 2013
ksnapped

Thanks!!

19 04 2013
artud2000

Good job! keep it up good luck in the half

19 04 2013
ksnapped

Thank you! Progress is a glorious thing. 🙂

Give it to me straight -

