For All You Mommas

12 05 2013

**My apologies to anyone who received an email for a post that didn’t actually exist yet. I had a slight technical difficulty while attempting to use my WordPress phone app. Oops. 

Here we are again, another Mother’s Day. My momma is awesome on a daily basis, and I hope I tell her that often enough. But I still feel sad (and guilty) every year when the day just for her rolls around and I’m stuck with a phone call and package she probably won’t receive until afterward because of my issues with the Post Office. I’m the terrible daughter that moved 2500 miles away, then convinced her other daughter to come with me – and yet she still loves me. What a woman!

I’m at the age now where many of my friends are mommas, too. And throughout my life, I’ve adopted friends’ mommas as my own. I have two awesome grandmammas,  though one is in Heaven now. After that fateful 45-mile drive through a blizzard to the shelter last January, I’m now a dog-momma myself. So today I salute all you mommas, grandmommas, step mommas, foster mommas, adopted mommas, stand-in mommas, pet-mommas, soon-to-be mommas, maybe-someday mommas, and even the I-don’t-think-I’m-gonna-be mommas. I don’t have all your addresses and 1-800-flowers said they don’t deliver to email addresses, so I went out this morning and found you a bouquet of gorgeous flowers from our wonderful Mother Nature that I could send you digitally. All of you.

Enjoy!!

apple blossoms for mothers day, Trout Lake WA

Apple blossoms on their last leg. Beautiful even in their last days.

IMG_6085-2

Pacific Dogwood – these are actually about as big as my hand. I can see these from my window!

IMG_6094-2

Found this beauty growing at the corner of the house all by herself. Despite scouring my resources (aka asking J and him looking in the flower book) we were unable to identify her. Anyone know what she is?

IMG_6099-2

Oregon tea tree, or redstem ceanothus, growing by the driveway. I love the dance number these guys had going today!

lupines for mothers day 2013, Trout Lake WA

Lupines!! These are for all my Texas mommas out there, since they’re the close cousin to the bluebonnets you probably laid your babies in to take pictures.

Lovely phlox in varying shades of purple, one of my favs, hanging out with the yellow lomatium – what a cute couple!

IMG_6119-2

Say what you will about dandelions, I happen to love them. And my mother was always patiently appreciative to receive them by the handfuls.

IMG_6111-2

A lovely bunch of red columbines. I love how they look like little shooting stars.

IMG_6114-2

This red-flowering currant is growing next to the huge “ranger station” sign. Simba and I walk by and smell the blooms almost every morning!

miner's lettuce, Columbia Gorge wildflowers

I almost stepped on this teensy-weensy little miner’s lettuce. Tiny perfection.

serviceberry bushes, wildflowers Washington

Service berry bushes – we had these in Twisp, too. They smell absolutely heavenly.

spring daffodils, Columbia Gorge wildflowers

I was about to go inside when I turned and saw this guy looking at me like “Hey! Don’t forget me!” All my other daffodils have already withered except for this exceptional white one. You handsome devil, you!

IMG_6081-2

Another unidentified flower, this one crawling along the ground out by the front gate. Anyone know?

Happy Mother’s Day, everyone!

😀

PS: Feel free to come visit and check out my yard full of wildflowers yourself!

Actions

Information

Give it to me straight -

