Lessons Learned from Grad School

23 06 2015

Unbelievable. I have finished my first semester as a grad student. Wooooo!

Despite the fact that this was a summer session that clocked a super-short 6 weeks, I have to admit something: I feel vastly more smart than I did 6 weeks ago. I mean, SO SMART. And since I’m so smart now, I thought I would tell you a few things I’ve learned in my transition to brilliance. Feel free to take notes, I don’t mind.

1) I don’t know nearly as much as I thought I did about teaching or education in general. Like, nothing.

2) My brain really can function on only 4 hours of sleep.

3) My body will cease to function if I attempt #2 twice in a row.

4) The brain is a marvelous contraption. For instance, it can dig deep and pump out some impressively well-thought-out, thoroughly researched, high-quality pieces of work, while running exclusively on caffeine.

5) Caffeine really is an alternative fuel source. (“Addiction” is such a strong word…)

6) I have found a new love. His name is espresso and we’re going to live happily ever after.

7) Speaking of addiction, I need a support group for my new-found drugs: the crafty aisle at Goodwill and clearance stickers at Michael’s. I have at least a year before I start teaching elementary, but I’ve already started hoarding glitter glue sticks and packages of fancy paper, funky scissors and smelly-good markers, emoji stickers and random bags of string. You just NEVER KNOW when these things will come in handy!!

8) It takes no time at all to slip back into the diet that helped keep my girlish figure through my undergrad; the diet most commonly known as the “broke college kid” diet. Suddenly having no income besides my outrageous student loans sent me immediately back to this diet and the ramen aisle at the grocery store. Sad day. (My girlish figure of my undergrad days has not yet been located…)

9) Back to the amazing capacities of the brain: let’s talk about the wonders of skimming. The ability to cover 12 chapters that are due tomorrow. Totally possible! (And yes, caffeine may be at work here, as well.)

10) Will power is truly tested by the Procrastination Monkey that tries to distract me from my priorities. Pros: I’ve started running again! And I’ve learned to skim, and bust through the procrastination barriers, and git ‘er done when I need to! Cons: Netflix withdrawals are real, and they are painful.

11) I have no idea how to cook for one person. I either have enough food for the neighborhood or nothing and I eat crap. I really need to figure this out.

12) Spending 9 1/2 hours in class with 9 other people, even just twice a week, can in fact make you fast friends with these people very quickly. All 9 of my fellow cohort-ians already know more about me than many people I’ve know for years. (Just ask Tim about my spirit animal…)

13) Grad school is the greatest decision I could have made, and the timing was absolutely perfect. My fellow classmates of my cohort are all amazing people that I am so excited to be with for this journey. From Day 1 (ok, maybe Day 2 after I recovered from the overwhelming shock of Day 1), I have felt the excitement grow, and I am so relieved and grateful to have my decision validated. This is exactly what I should be doing.

And now I have to get back to my reading! Today was the first day of the second summer semester, and there’s no room for slacking. This time next year, I’ll be all done – gotta keep on chuggin’!

PS: For any of you parents out there – if your children have teachers even half as dedicated as those that I’ve met, your child will be one lucky student. 😀  

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 06 2015
Debby

What I learned in grad school was how much I didn’t know. Enjoy! You’ll never regret this adventure.

24 06 2015
ksnapped

Thanks, Debby! It is amazing how whole worlds of knowledge start opening up all over the place. I agree with you – so much I don’t know! 🙂

25 06 2015
Lucille Glasgow

I hardly know what to say to all this new knowledge you have. Are you also learning how to wipe noses and talk to irate parents who think you are picking on their kids? That’s when you depend on You, Who you are basically as Kalista, loved by God and many people, nurtured by parents and your heritage; in other words, your foundation as a child of God, made in his image. will sustain you in your relationships with your pupils and their parents. I mean all this as a compliment to who you are, to your enthusiasm for following your dream. I remember wishing as a new, and sometimes an old, teacher that someone in college had taught me how to direct one-act plays, chaperon Senior trips and do all the other things I was required to do for which I had been given no training. I’m sure your situation will be different but some of it basically the same. In the final analysis, you will do great because you are YOU. I love you very much and admire your perseverance and courage to do what you are doing.
Love, Grandma

Give it to me straight -

